Lewis named football MVP

Indiana quarterback Kellen Lewis earned the 2006 Anthony Thompson MVP Award, IU head coach Terry Hoeppner announced at the team banquet on Sunday.

Hoeppner also recognized the team’s 21 seniors, including captains Lance Bennett (wide receiver/return specialist), Justin Frye (offensive line), Kenny Kendal (defensive line) and Will Meyers (safety), while handing out 10 additional season-ending awards.

Senior offensive lineman Chris Mangiero received the Howard Brown Award, given to a player who exemplifies the qualities of former IU assistant coach Howard Brown – compassion, courage, understanding, humor, sportsmanship and a strong competitive spirit as a player, coach and as a man.

Meyers and senior quarterback Graeme McFarland won the Ted Whereatt Award, given to seniors who have excelled academically.

Senior linebacker Jake Powers is this year’s Ted Verlihay Award winner, given to the player who has demonstrated the best mental attitude and loyalty to Indiana Football.

Bennett won the Corby Davis Award, honoring a senior player whose conduct on campus, in the classroom and on the football field most closely exemplifies the qualities of former Big Ten MVP Corby Davis.

Kendal received the Chris Dal Sasso Award, given to the outstanding defensive lineman who exemplifies the qualities of Chris Dal Sasso, a three-year letterman and captain in 1936.

Frye is the Don Howell Award recipient, given to the outstanding offensive lineman in memory of Don Howell.

Senior wide receiver Jahkeen Gilmore garnered the Al Barsch Award, given to the player who has hung tough and fought through adversity.

Senior defensive back Troy Grosfield was named the Pete Schmidt Award winner, given to the player who places the Indiana Football program above himself.

Sophomore wide receiver James Hardy, junior cornerback Tracy Porter and sophomore running back Marcus Thigpen collected the Hoosier Big Playmaker Awards on offense, defense and special teams, respectively.

Senior running back Kenni Burns and senior defensive lineman Nick Luce earned 2006 Scout of the Year honors for their work on the scout team.


2006 Scout of the Year Awards
Offense – Kenni Burns
Defense – Nick Luce

Hoosier Big Play Maker Award
Offense – James Hardy
Defense – Tracy Porter
Special Team – Marcus Thigpen

Pete Schmidt Award “Team Above Self Award” – Troy Grosfield
Al Barsch Award “Hang Tough Award” – Jahkeen Gilmore
Don Howell Award “Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award” – Justin Frye
Chris Dal Sasso Award “Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award” – Kenny Kendal
Corby David Memorial Award – Lance Bennett
Ted Verlihay Award “Mental Attitude and Loyalty Award” – Jake Powers
Ted Whereatt Award “Senior Academic Excellence Award” – Will Meyers & Graeme McFarland
Howard Brown Award – Chris Mangiero

Hoosier Captains 2006
Lance Bennett
Justin Frye
Kenny Kendal
Will Meyers