Means, Neuenswander honored for sportsmanship

Each year, the Big Ten honors two athletes from each school for their sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

Indiana’s honorees this year are Andrew Means, a junior who plays baseball and football, and  Vera Neuenswander, a sophomore on the track and field team.

Full release follows the jump . . .

A total of 275 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten today announced the 22 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2007-08 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 275 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, theses student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners include 14 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and eight All-Big Ten selections from the 2007-08 season. In addition, Christy Finch of Northwestern lacrosse and Melissa Walbridge of Penn State women’s volleyball led their respective squads to national championships.

The 2008 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is attached as a PDF.

2008 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Illinois                    J Leman, Sr., Football
Shannon McDonnell, Sr., Women’s Soccer
Indiana                  Andrew Means, Jr., Baseball
Vera Neuenswander, So., Women’s Track & Field
Iowa                       Bart van Monsjou, Sr., Men’s Tennis
Brittany Keyes, Sr., Rowing
Michigan                Michael Parke, Sr., Men’s Soccer
Krista Clement, Sr., Women’s Basketball
Michigan State     Drew Neitzel, Sr., Men’s Basketball
Alisa Wulff, Sr., Women’s Basketball
Minnesota             Amir Pinnix, Sr., Football
Kelly Roysland, Sr., Volleyball
Northwestern       Tonjua (T.J.) Jones, Sr., Football
Christy Finch, Sr., Lacrosse
Ohio State             Kyle Coconis, Sr., Men’s Golf
Veronica Jatsek, Sr., Women’s Track & Field
Penn State            Mike Walker, Sr., Men’s Basketball

Melissa Walbridge, Sr., Volleyball
Purdue                   Jaycen Taylor, Jr., Football
Brooke Beier, Sr., Women’s Tennis
Wisconsin             Luke Swan, Sr., Football
Audra Jeffers, Jr., Volleyball