The reveal

This just in from the Big Ten office ….

Big Ten Conference Reveals 2009 Basketball Tournament Bracket

Michigan State earns top seed for third time in Tournament history

The field is set for the 2009 Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament that will take place Thursday-Sunday, March 12-15, at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Ind. Michigan State (25-5, 15-3) claimed the No. 1 seed after capturing the Big Ten title for the fifth time under Tom Izzo’s tutelage. Illinois (23-8, 11-7) earned the No. 2 seed, while Purdue (22-9, 11-7) clinched the No. 3 spot. Wisconsin (19-11, 10-8) claimed the No. 4 seed and Ohio State (20-9, 10-8) earned the No. 5 seed. Each of the top five teams receives a first-round bye and will start tournament play on Friday, March 13.

The 12th annual Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament will tip off on Thursday, March 12, with No. 8 Minnesota (21-9, 9-9) taking on No. 9 Northwestern (17-12, 8-10) at Noon ET on the Big Ten Network. The second game of the tournament will feature No. 7 Michigan (19-12, 9-9) against No. 10 Iowa (15-16, 5-13) at approximately 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2. The final game on Thursday will include No. 6 Penn State (21-10, 10-8) and No. 11 Indiana (6-24, 1-17) at 5 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

Day two will begin with top-seeded Michigan State facing the winner of the Minnesota/Northwestern game at Noon ET on ESPN. The Spartans are the No. 1 seed for the third time in tournament history as MSU claimed the No. 1 seed in back-to-back Big Ten Tournaments in 1998 and 1999. Michigan State will look to capture its first tournament title since 2000 and become the first squad in Big Ten Tournament history to win the tourney crown three times. The No. 1 seed has won the tournament only four times with Wisconsin claiming the title last year, Ohio State in 2007, Illinois in 2005 and Michigan State in 1999.

The second game of the day features the last two tournament champions in Wisconsin and Ohio State. The Badgers won the tournament last year while the Buckeyes claimed the title in 2007. The two will square off at approximately 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.  Illinois, the No. 2 seed, will take on the winner of the Michigan-Iowa contest on Friday at 6:30 p.m. ET in the first of two games that will air on the Big Ten Network. The second day will conclude with No. 3 Purdue facing the winner of the Penn State-Indiana contest at approximately 9 p.m. ET on the Big Ten Network.

The Big Ten Tournament semifinals and championship will take place on Saturday and Sunday, March 14-15, and all three games will air on CBS Sports. The first game on Saturday begins at 1:40 p.m. ET and game two will start at approximately 4:05 p.m. ET. The tournament will conclude with the championship game on Sunday, March 15, at 3:30 p.m. ET.

All-session and single-session tickets to the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament can be purchased through the Conseco Fieldhouse box office, Ticketmaster outlets, <> , or by calling Ticketmaster at (317) 239-5151.


  1. finally this season comes to an end. may i never see daniel moore or fink on the floor during meaningful minutes again.

  2. aruss, I actually agree. While they play so hard, they will not shoot the ball and are NO offensive threat at all. I feel good about playing PSU! GO IU!!!

Comments are closed.