Big honors from Big Ten for IU soccer

At Thursday night’s Big Ten awards banquet, Indiana junior forward Will Bruin (15 goals, 3 assists) was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year.

First-year head coach Todd Yeagley was the conference’s Coach of the Year after leading IU to its first Big Ten title since 2007.

Bruin was joined on the all-Big Ten first team by teammates Andy Adlard and Rich Balchan. Tommy Meyer was named to the second team.

Three Hoosiers landed on the all-Freshman team: Jacob Bushue, Nikita Kotlov and Harrison Petts.

Indiana plays host Penn State in the Big Ten Tournament semifinals at 3:30 Friday afternoon on the Big Ten Network.


  1. Congratulations to Todd, Will, Andy, Rich, Jacob, Nikita, and Harrison! Well done, guys!

    And well done to the whole IU team, congratulations on a job well done on turning around the direction of the program. Now, go out there and win some games in the postseason!

  2. IU Soccer is mounting a massive comeback by returning to form in recruiting some of the best regional and national talent.

    However, a different story that illustrates how far our turnaround has reached, specifically due to the hiring of Todd Yeagley, involves Chris Estridge. A high-level player out of Brownsburg, he committed to Wake Forest and was a freshman there the year after they won the NCAA championship. He is now a very solid impact player for IU who brings a huge motor and competitive presence to the field.

    If we can continue to win back the talent that has either gone or considered going out-of-state recently, we’ll be competing for many more College Cups in the future. Keep it up boys.

  3. What comebackor turn around from last year?? Freitag had a better record in 2009 than Todd’s here in 2010. 2009 had a more difficult shedule and season of play, and todd was ‘given’ the great team Freitag had put together! Seems like he stepped into a talented team for 2009, while he was losing in WI.

Comments are closed.