Replogle finalist for ARA Sportsmanship Award

From IU Sports Info:


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) announced Indiana senior linebacker Tyler Replogle as one of 10 finalists for its sixth annual sportsmanship award, given to one outstanding NCAA Division I collegiate football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship.

Replogle is the third consecutive Hoosier to be named a finalist, following Austin Starr in 2008 and Jammie Kirlew in 2009. The 2010 Sportsmanship Award recipient will be chosen from the 10 finalists and announced this November.

A member of the team’s Leadership Council and a co-captain along with Ben Chappell, Replogle is second on the team with 56 tackles and is seventh in the Big Ten averaging 8.0 tackles per game. He also has 28 solo stops, three tackles for loss, one interception, two quarterback hurries, one fumble recovery and one pass defended.

Previous winners are Kansas State University tight end, Jeron Mastrud (2009), Northwestern University receiver Eric Peterman (2008); Washington State quarterback Alex Brink (2007); Rutgers University fullback, Brian Leonard (2006) and University of Memphis running back, DeAngelo Williams (2005).

The 2010 finalists, in alphabetical order, are:
•    Sam Acho, University of Texas
•    Corbin Bryant, Northwestern University
•    Jordan Gafford, Miami University
•    Scott Lewis, St. Francis University
•    Chima Nwachukwu, Washington State University
•    Christian Ponder, Florida State
•    Tyler Replogle, Indiana University
•    Dominik Riley, University of Memphis
•    Chris Stewart, University of Notre Dame
•    John Stokes, Vanderbilt University

“The word is getting out to a wider audience about the importance of sportsmanship as the number of candidates more than doubled from last year,” said B.J. Bailey, CRS, president of ARA. “We are thrilled to be part of this groundswell of excitement over the power of sportsmanship. As the only national award that recognizes an athlete’s character and leadership as it translates to sportsmanship, the ARA Sportsmanship Award was created six years ago to shed light on these positive traits.”

To qualify for the award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team; be in good academic standing; demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches; show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously; convey a high degree of humility and integrity; and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community.