Bolser named to Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

Indiana senior tight end was named to the Mackey Award Midseason Watch List. The release follows.



BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana fifth-year senior tight end Ted Bolser is on the John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List, it was announced Tuesday afternoon. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2013 John Mackey Award recipient will be presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. 

Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at and on the official twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward. 


Bolser is tied for first nationally among tight ends with five touchdowns, is tied for seventh with 19 receptions and is 19th with 206 yards. He leads Big Ten tight ends in TDs and catches (tied) and is second in yards.


The Cincinnati native was named the John Mackey Award Tight End of the Week for his performance against Navy in week two. Bolser became the 20th Hoosier and the second tight end to reach 100 catches (101 – 21st all-time) and 1,000 yards (1,223 – 26th all-time) at Michigan State last weekend. Bob Stephenson (1978-81) holds the records with 115 receptions and 1,252 yards.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02) of the Baltimore Ravens, Kellen Winslow II (‘03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (‘07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman (‘08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez (‘09), D.J. Williams (‘10) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.