Blackmon, Johnson named to Tisdale Award watch list

James Blackmon Jr. and Robert Johnson have been added to the watch list for the Wayman Tisdale Award, given annually to the nation’s top freshman.

Indiana is one of five teams to have multiple freshmen selected to the list, joining Kansas, Duke, Kentucky and Syracuse.

Blackmon has started all five games for Indiana, averaging 20.2 points and 4.8 rebounds per contest. He’s also shooting 54.5 percent (18-for-28) from beyond the arc. Johnson is another five-game starter for IU, averaging 12.4 points and 5.0 rebounds. The Richmond, Va. native is shooting 54.5 percent from the field and leads Indiana with seven steals.

The winner will be announced during the college basketball awards gala on April 14, 2015.

You can read the full list of aspirants after the jump.

Cliff Alexander, Kansas
James Blackmon Jr., Indiana
Daniel Hamilton, UConn
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Robert Johnson, Indiana
Stanley Johnson, Arizona
Tyus Jones, Duke
Kaleb Joseph, Syracuse
Kevon Looney, UCLA
Trey Lyles, Kentucky
Chris McCullough, Syracuse
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville
Kelly Oubre Jr., Kansas
D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky
Reid Travis, Stanford
Myles Turner, Texas
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Rashad Vaughn, UNLV
Isaiah Whitehead, Seton Hall
Justise Winslow, Duke