Snodgrass wins backstroke title at women’s nationals

GREENSBORO, N.C. — Indiana junior Brooklynn Snodgrass led wire-to-wire to win the 100-yard women’s backstroke in 51.59 on Day 3 of the AT&T Winter National Championship Friday night, beating UCLA’s Linnea Mack by 0.39 seconds. The time automatically qualifies Snodgrass for the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

Indiana’s Justine Ress and Kennedy Goss were also in the 100 back final with Snodgrass. Ress was seventh in in 53.19, while Kennedy Goss was eighth in 53.27.

Goss also finished second in the women’s 200 freestyle in a season-best 1:44.87. Hoosier teammate Haley Lips was third in a season-best 1:45.05. Olympic gold medalist Katie Ledecky went 1:42.39 to win the event by 2.48 seconds.

Goss also swam a leg on the fifth-place women’s 200 freestyle relay team with Grace Vertiganm, Cynthia Pammett and Ali Rockett. The Hoosiers went 1:31.64, 1.8 seconds behind winner Michigan.

Max Irwin, a former Bloomington North standout and a sophomore at IU, and Gia Dalesandro won the ‘C’ final in the men’s and women’s 100 butterfly. Irwin went 47.69, while Dalesandro clocked a 53.45.

Irwin also teammed with Anze Tavcar, Blake Pieroni and Ali Khalafalla to finish seventh in the men’s 200 free relay in 1:20.14.

Bloomington South senior Ian Finnerty, who will swim at IU next fall, finished 18th in the men’s 100 breaststroke in 54.29.

Pieroni finished fourth in the men’s 200 freestyle in 1:34.55, while Tavcar was 11th (1:35.32) and Jackson Miller 13th (1:36.78).

Former Hoosier James Wells was second in the men’s 100 back in 45.92, while another former Hoosier, Bronwyn Pasloski, was eighth in the women’s 100 breaststroke in 1:00.13.