Blackmon named a finalist for Tisdale Award

Indiana guard James Blackmon Jr. has been selected as one of 10 finalists for the Wayman Tisdale Award, given to college basketball’s top freshman.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced its 10 finalists on Monday, naming Blackmon to the final watch list along with Big Ten cohorts D’Angelo Russell of Ohio State and Maryland’s Melo Trimble.

Blackmon is averaging 15.8 points per game, while shooting 39.4 percent from the 3-point line and grabbing 5.3 rebounds per contest — a figure good for second on IU’s team.

The award will be officially presented during the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 14 in Oklahoma City.

Follow along after the jump for the full list of Tisdale finalists.

James Blackmon Jr., Indiana
Devin Booker, Kentucky
Stanley Johnson, Arizona
Tyus Jones, Duke
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Kelly Oubre, Kansas
D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Justise Winslow, Duke