Hoosiers draw Northwestern in tournament opener #iubb

Nebraska’a loss to Maryland in the final game of the Big Ten regular season was the last domino to fall in an ever-changing Big Ten Tournament picture.

Now we know Indiana will face Northwestern in its conference tournament opener on Thursday at 6:30 p.m. at the United Center in Chicago. With a win — and IU most certainly needs one — the Hoosiers will face Maryland on Friday evening at 6:30.

Indiana’s late-season slide began in earnest with a sloppy effort against the Wildcats in Evanston, Ill. on Feb. 25, when Northwestern won 72-65. At one point, the Hoosiers went 10 minutes without a field goal and yielded 40 first-half points to the Wildcats.

“We are just right now working and preparing for the tournament, getting ready to leave Thursday for Chicago,” IU point guard Yogi Ferrell said after Saturday’s two-point loss to Michigan State, the Hoosiers’ third in a row and eighth in their last 12 tries. “We are not looking to see where we stand for the NCAA Tournament right now. We are just trying to get into the Big Ten Tournament and win a couple games there.”

Every Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament game will be nationally televised with coverage from CBS Sports, ESPN or ESPN2 and BTN. Since the event’s inception in 1998, every tournament contest has been televised.

Six different programs have won the Big Ten Tournament. Ohio State and Michigan State have each claimed four official titles. Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin have each won the championship twice, and Purdue has won the tournament once.