Tanner Thompson named to MAC Hermann Trophy watch list

The Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy, given annually to the top player in NCAA men’s and women’s soccer, announced its preseason watch list on Wednesday, and Indiana junior midfielder Tanner Thompson was among the 30 men named to the list.

He is the first Hoosier to be named to the preseason Hermann Trophy Watch List since Eriq Zavaleta in 2012. Danny O’Rourke was the last Hoosier to win the award in 2004. The MAC award and Hermann Trophy merged in 2002. Prior to that, six IU players won the Hermann Trophy, including current assistant coach Brian Maisonneuve in 1994, the same year Indiana head coach Todd Yeagley won the MAC Player of the Year.

Thompson led the Hoosiers with six goals last season and added three assists en route to being named first team All-Big Ten, first NSCAA All-American and a MAC Hermann semifinalist.

This year’s watch list will be pared to 15 semifinalists late in the regular season, and after public voting on the MAC Hermann Trophy website in November, three finalists will be selected with the winners announced in January.

Thompson and the Hoosiers open the regular season at Armstrong Stadium on Aug. 28 at 8 p.m. against St. John’s.