Sudfeld tops list of IU football award winners #iufb

The award season in college football reached Bloomington on Friday.

Quarterback Nate Sudfeld was named the 2015 Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player at IU’s team banquet, headlining a long list of award winners recognized by coach Kevin Wilson inside the Henke Hall of Champions.

Sudfeld earned the honor after logging notable career numbers in passing touchdowns (58), passing yardage (7,490), 350-yard games (five), 300-yard games (10), 200-yard games (18) and four-touchdown games (five). The California native is tied for first in the league in 400-yard games (one), 250-yard games (12) and three-touchdown games (nine), and is second in completion percentage (60.6). At the banquet, Sudfeld was also given the Terry P. Cole Award for the team’s top individual performance in the Old Oaken Bucket game.

Sudfeld, right guard Dan Feeney, defensive end Nick Mangieri, linebacker Marcus Oliver, bandit Zack Shaw and left tackle Jason Spriggs were recognized as the 2015 team captains.

One day after they earned second team All-American honors, Dan Feeney and Jason Spriggs added additional hardware at the banquet. Feeney picked up the Offensive Teammate of the Year award and Spriggs earned the Chris Dal Sasso Award recognizing IU’s most outstanding lineman. Wilson recognized Mangieri and receiver Mitchell Paige with the Howard Brown “Dedication to IU Football” Award, and Shaw picked up the Hoosier Iron Award for outstanding weight room performance.

Brandon Knight, a prized left tackle recruit who moved to tight end for depth purposes, picked up the Offensive Newcomer of the Year selection, while safety Jonathan Crawford was named the top defensive newcomer. Punter Erich Toth received the Ted Whereatt “Senior Academic Excellence” Award and tight end Michael Cooper was the Ted Verlihay “Mental Attitude” Award winner. Jordan Howard received the Corby Davis Memorial Award recognizing the team’s top running back.

The Harold Mauro “Loyalty to IU Football” Award went to Adarius Rayner and Jake Reed, while receiver Andre Booker and running back Andrew Wilson were named the team’s top walk-ons. Though he wasn’t academically cleared to play this season, highly-regarded receiver Camion Patrick was named the Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year. At one point this fall, Patrick moved to running back to give IU a bigger practice body in the scout team backfield. Linebacker Tony Thomas was recognized as the top defensive scout team player.

Kicker Griffin Oakes was named the Special Teams Player of the Year and linebacker Marcus Oliver was named the team’s top defensive teammate.


  1. It is good to read about the awards given out to some of the players that helped start the turnaround in IU football. They worked very hard for four or more years in many cases to achieve these and other awards. I am waiting and eager to see how they handle playing in their first Bowl Game.

  2. Look at the teams that Sudfeld did this against this year. Tremendous accomplishment. Think about all those dropped passes, too.

    What a great season for Suds! Happy for the kid. Looking forward to seeing him light it up one more time against Duke.

Comments are closed.