Ferrell a mid-season candidate for national player of the year #iubb

The mid-season candidates for the Oscar Robertson Trophy were announced Monday and Indiana point guard Yogi Ferrell made the cut.

Ferrell has been at the heart of IU’s 7-0 start to Big Ten play, averaging 17.1 points, 6.0 assists and 4.3 rebounds across the Hoosiers’ first 20 games. Indiana is 17-3 and carries a 12-game winning streak into Tuesday’s game at Wisconsin.

The senior is also shooting 44.7 percent from beyond the arc and 51.3 percent during conference season. In Tuesday’s win against Illinois, Ferrell broke Michael Lewis’ Indiana record of 545 career assists, and has 559 helpers entering this week’s action.

Ferrell is one of 20 semifinalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, awarded annually to the national player of the year. He joins fellow Big Ten nominees Jarrod Uthoff of Iowa, Denzel Valentine of Michigan State and Maryland’s Melo Trimble.

The full list of mid-season candidates can be found after the jump:

Grayson Allen, Duke
Kris Dunn, Providence
Kahlil Felder, Oakland
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame
Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Jalen Jones, Texas A&M
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Monte Morris, Iowa State
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Gary Payton II, Oregon State
Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas
Ben Simmons, LSU
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

One comment

  1. Despite what anyone thinks about the team or the coach, this is a great honor.

    Yogi works extremely hard and has from day one as a freshman. Very happy he’s being rewarded. Keep pushing.

    Go Hoosiers

Comments are closed.