Davis, Jones to play in Derby Festival Classic #iubb

Indiana signees De’Ron Davis and Curtis Jones are among the players who will participate in the 44th annual Derby Festival Classic at Freedom Hall in Louisville on April 15. A roster for the event was released Tuesday.

Davis, who recently was named Colorado Mr. Basketball, and Jones, a former teammate of Thomas Bryant’s at Huntington Prep, are among 18 players ranked in the top 100 nationally on the Classic roster. Also included are McDonald’s All-American Terrance Ferguson (uncommitted), Kentucky recruit Brad Calipari and Louisville walk-on Tyler Sharpe. Players will also participate in 2-on-2, 3-point and dunk contests during the Night of the Future Stars on April 14 at New Albany High School.

New Albany coach Jim Shannon will be one of the All-Star Team coaches, joining Richard Gatewood from Taylor County High School, which reached the 2016 Kentucky Boys Sweet Sixteen quarterfinals.

First held in 1973, the Derby Festival Basketball Classic is the oldest high school all-star game in the nation. The game has featured such players as Jamal Mashburn, Rex Chapman, Moses Malone, Isiah Thomas, Dominique Wilkins, Eric Bledsoe, Deron Williams and Nolan Smith, among many others. Current Hoosiers to participate in the event include Bryant, Troy Williams, Robert Johnson, Juwan Morgan, Collin Hartman and OG Anunoby.

Admission to Night of the Future Stars is free with a ticket to the Basketball Classic. Tickets cost $18 in advance ($20 at the door) and are $50 for VIP Courtside seating. Tickets are on sale at all TicketMaster locations, www.ticketmaster.com, by calling 1-800-745-3000 or calling the Freedom Hall box office at 502-367-5144 (Includes facility fee).
2016 Derby Festival Classic roster