Feeney, Scales share MVP at IU awards banquet

Fifth-year senior offensive lineman Dan Feeney and junior linebacker Tegray Scales earned Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player honors at the 2016 Indiana University football banquet on Friday evening.

IU head coach Tom Allen honored the team’s seniors and handed out several awards at the Henke Hall of Champions.

Feeney, Scales, fifth-year senior wide receiver Ricky Jones, redshirt junior linebacker Marcus Oliver and fifth-year senior wide receiver Mitchell Paige were named the team captains.

A first team Associated Press All-American, Feeney is just the fourth player in program history to be a two-time first team All-American and just the third to earn first team honors in back-to-back seasons: Anthony Thompson (1988-89), John Isenbarger (1967-68) and Pete Pihos (1943, 45).

The Orland Park, Ill., native additionally received All-America recognition from the Walter Camp Foundation and was named first team All-Big Ten following the 2016 campaign. Feeney became the fourth offensive lineman in program history to earn back-to-back first team honors and first Hoosier to do so since wide receiver Tandon Doss in 2009-10. Feeney recently accepted an invitation to play in the 2016 Senior Bowl.

Scales earned second team All-America honors from SI.com and became the first IU linebacker recognized on an All-America team since Van Waiters (third team) in 1987.

He leads the nation with 87 solo stops and is first in the Big Ten with 116 tackles and 20.5 tackles for loss. Scales’ eight double-figure tackle games also rank first in the league and tied for second nationally. He has five sacks, an interception return for touchdown and one forced fumble.

2016 Indiana Football Awards
Hoosier Iron Award (Outstanding Weight Room Performance): Nate Hoff, Nick Westbrook
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Richard Lagow
Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Marcelino Ball
Ted Whereatt “Senior Academic Excellence” Award: Arthur Jones
Ted Verlihay “Mental Attitude” Award: Mitchell Paige
Corby Davis Memorial Award (Outstanding Back): Devine Redding
Howard Brown “Dedication to IU Football” Award: Jacob Bailey
Chris Dal Sasso Award (Outstanding Lineman): Dan Feeney
Harold Mauro “Loyalty to IU Football” Award: Ralph Green III
Terry P. Cole Award (Old Oaken Bucket Game MVP): Jonathan Crawford
Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year: Peyton Ramsey, Ryan Watercutter
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Johnny Albomonte
Outstanding Walk-On Player of the Year: Luke Timian
Special Teams Player of the Year: Ricky Jones
Defensive Teammates of the Year: Rashard Fant, Marcus Oliver
Offensive Teammate of the Year: Devine Redding
Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Players: Dan Feeney, Tegray Scales
Team Captains: Dan Feeney, Ricky Jones, Marcus Oliver, Mitchell Paige, Tegray Scales