Hoosiers rake in All-Big Ten honors #iums

All-Big Ten men’s soccer honors were announced on Friday, and eight members of the second-ranked Indiana Hoosiers were honored, the most for the team since 2012 and most of any conference school this season.

IU senior Grant Lillard was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, while forward Mason Toye was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year after leading the conference in goals scored with nine.

Lillard and Toye were each named first team All-Big Ten, as were junior left back Andrew Gutman and junior midfielder Francesco Moore. It is the third straight first team honor for Lillard, but the first such honor for Toye, Gutman and Moore.

Griffin Dorsey, Timmy Mehl and goalkeeper Trey Muse were each named second team All-Big Ten, while senior co-captain Jack Griffith was the Hoosiers’ Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Toye and Dorsey were also unanimous selections to the All-Freshman Team, where they were joined by Muse.

The three All-Freshman Team selections matches a program-best previously set in 2003, 2006 and 2010.

“It’s great to have eight of our players receiving all-conference honors,” IU coach Todd Yeagley said. “They have all had very good years and been instrumental in helping us have an excellent regular season. It’s certainly a reflection upon all the good work put in by our entire team. All of our recipients are very deserving of these distinguished honors.”

One comment

  1. A great regular season go Men’s Soccer. But it is now time to win some Trophies! First the B1G Tournament, then the NCAA Tournament! Go IU!

Comments are closed.