Gutman wins MAC Hermann Trophy #iums

ST. LOUIS — It had been 14 years since an Indiana University men’s soccer player won the MAC Hermann Trophy.

On Friday night that drought ended when Andrew Gutman took home college soccer’s most prestigious award as the 2018 national player of the year.

In a ceremony at the Missouri Athletic Club, Gutman was announced as the winner over fellow finalists J.J. Williams of Kentucky and Andre Shinyashiki of Denver.

It was the first time since current IU assistant coach Danny O’Rourke in 2004 that a Hoosier has brought home the honor.

Prior to 2002, the Hermann Trophy and MAC Player of the Year were separate awards won eight times by IU players — Angelo DiBernardo in 1978, Armando Betancourt in 1981, Ken Snow won both awards in both 1988 and 1990, and current IU coach Todd Yeagley split the two with teammate Brian Maisonneuve in 1994.

Gutman led Indiana in scoring from his left back position with 11 goals and nine assists en route to being named a first team All-American by the United Soccer Coaches, national player of the year by, first team All-Big Ten and Big Ten Defender of the Year.

In addition to his offense, the Hinsdale, Ill., native helped the IU defense post an NCAA-best 15 shutouts on the season.


  1. A great achievement for a great Indiana Soccer player. Go on to a great professional career Andrew!

Comments are closed.