Maher named to MAC Hermann watch list #iums

Indiana University sophomore center back Jack Maher was named to the 2019 MAC Hermann Trophy watch list on Monday.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female college soccer players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced on Jan. 10 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

This marks the fifth straight year the preseason watch list has included a Hoosier — Tanner Thompson in 2015 and ’16 (semifinalist), eventual runner-up Grant Lillard in 2017 and eventual winner Andrew Gutman last season.

Gutman became the 12th IU player to win the MAC Hermann Trophy all-time and the first since current IU assistant coach Danny O’Rourke in 2004.

Maher is the lone sophomore on the 36-player list. The Caseyville, Ill., native was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 2018 and earned first team Freshman All-American honors from and College Soccer News while helping IU to a 20-3-1 record, Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles and a second straight trip to the College Cup. The Hoosiers, with Maher anchoring the back line, recorded an NCAA-best 15 shutouts in 2018.

“It didn’t take long for Jack Maher to establish himself as one of the top players in the college game,” IU coach Todd Yeagley said in a news release. “We are excited to see Jack continue to elevate his game as he enters his second year with the program. Jack is on his way to becoming one of the finest IU players to wear the jersey.”