Mullen named to preseason Bednarik watch list

It’s not 100 percent certain whether there will be a football season come fall.

Nonetheless, watch list season has begun.

Sophomore cornerback Tiawan Mullen was the first to land on a preseason list Monday. He was named to the watch list for the Bednarik Award, which goes to the top defensive player in college football. The initial list includes 90 players, including just 11 sophomores.

In the Big Ten, there are nine names, including cornerbacks Ambry Thomas (Michigan) and Shaun Wade (Ohio State).

Mullen quickly ascended the Hoosiers’ depth chart as a freshman, finishing 11th nationally in pass breakups with 13. That total put him second among the country’s freshmen. He also tied for the team lead in forced fumbles and fumbles recovered at two apiece.

Mullen was named IU’s Defensive Newcomer of the Year and was named to multiple Freshman All-America teams, including first team nods from The Athletic and 247Sports.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Nov. 3, 2020. Three finalists will then be named on Nov. 23.

The Maxwell Football Club put out its preseason watch list calendar Monday. This week, the initial lists for the Davey O’Brien (Tuesday), Doak Walker (Wednesday), Biletnikoff (Thursday), and Mackey (Friday) awards will be unveiled. The following week will bring the Jim Thorpe (July 20), Outland and Nagurski (July 21), Groza and Ray Guy (July 22), Hornung and Wuerffel (July 23), and Maxwell Awards (July 24).

One comment

  1. It is good to see Mullen get recognition for the job he did last year. This season should see him and a couple of other IU DBs shine gaining recognition in the off-season. IU has three very good corners with a couple of young ones with great talent that could gain experience this season. It is fun seeing IU with more talent on the field and thinking about what the team can accomplish this season and in the future.

Comments are closed.