Hoosier Historia

‘Hoosier Historia’ is a historical news site for the Indiana University men’s basketball program, featuring collected stories and photos from the Bloomington Herald-Times news archives. All five of the Hoosiers’ national championships and other IU historical basketball eras are presented to celebrate the storied Indiana University program over the decades.

2000-06, Mike Davis era

Alabama native Mike Davis presided over six tumultuous seasons as head coach at Indiana once named interim head coach following the controversial dismissal of Bob Knight in September 2000. After leading the Hoosiers to an unexpected trip to the national championship game in 2002, criticism of Davis grew after his later teams failed to make the NCAA Tournament.

1987 NCAA Champions

This Steve Alford-led squad compiled a 30-4 record, and gave Coach Bob Knight his third NCAA title, won on a clutch shot by JUCO transfer Keith Smart to beat Syracuse in one of the most exciting championship games in NCAA history.

1981 NCAA Champions

Isiah Thomas was the catalyst behind the 1981 Hoosier squad that started the season slowly but eventually found their footing with stifling defense, and avenged a December loss to North Carolina to beat them in the NCAA title game for IU’s (and Coach Bob Knight’s) 2nd championship title in six years.

1976 NCAA Champions

Scott May. Kent Benson. Quinn Buckner. Bob Knight. 30-0. When the 1975-76 Hoosiers beat Michigan in the NCAA championship game for Coach Knight’s first national title, not only were they the last undefeated team standing, they would be the last undefeated team standing for 30 years (and still counting).

1953 NCAA Champions

Branch McCracken’s 1952-53 Hurryin’ Hoosiers took Indiana basketball to achievements it had never reached before, and back to the best one of all: the NCAA championship. The stars started to come into alignment well before the Hoosiers cut down the NCAA nets in Kansas City after a 69-68 victory over Kansas on March 30, 1953.

1940 NCAA Champions

The 1940 championship team from Indiana University, which defeated the Kansas Jayhawks in late March 1940, was to take the first of five national titles for IU. Their young coach, Branch McCracken, led them to their defeat of the Jayhawks, who were coached by the venerable ‘Phog’ Allen. IU was the new team on the basketball block, and were to enjoy many successful years under McCracken’s leadership.

Catching Up With …

H-T Sports writer Lynn Houser catches up with former Hoosiers, talks about their glory days, and finds out what they’re doing now.