Knight named Naismith National Coach of Year

Knight named Naismith National Coach of Year

April 1, 1987

ATLANTA – America’s 1984 Olympic gold-medal basketball coaches, Bob Knight and Pat Head Summitt, will be honored in Atlanta tonight for an updated achievement.

Knight and Head will be honored as men’s and women’s College Coach of the Year by the Naismith Foundation, which also will cite Navy center David Robinson and Texas center Clarissa Davis as players of the year.

The Olympics had nothing to do with the honors for Knight and Head. Each coached a team to an NCAA championship this week – Head’s Tennessee team defeating Louisiana Tech for the women’s championship Sunday and Knight’s Indiana team defeating Syracuse for the men’s title Monday.

Knight already had committed to attend the Atlanta dinner to introduce Pete Newell, the former San Francisco, Michigan State and California coach who will be honored at the dinner as a Hall of Fame selectee. Newell, whose California team won the 1959 NCAA championship, was the first to coach winning teams in the NCAA, National Invitation Tournament (San Francisco, 1949) and Olympic Games (1956). Since then, Knight and Dean Smith of North Carolina have matched the feat.