Five Hoosiers receive all-Big Ten honors

Five Indiana football players earned All-Big Ten honors, the program’s highest total since the 1988 season, the league announced Monday evening. Senior cornerback Tracy Porter, junior wide receiver James Hardy, junior kicker Austin Starr, sophomore quarterback Kellen Lewis and sophomore defensive end Greg Middleton received all-conference honors.

Fifth-year senior offensive lineman John Sandberg and sophomore safety Austin Thomas received honorable mention recognition, while fifth-year senior fullback Josiah Sears was Indiana’s sportsmanship honoree.

Hardy and Middleton received first-team honors from both the conference coaches and media, while Starr and Porter added first team honors from the media. Indiana’s four first-team players shares second-most in the league with Penn State, trailing only Ohio State’s six. Lewis was a second team selection by both the conference coaches and media, as were Porter and Starr on the coaches’ ballots.