Gordon’s on CSTV’s Wooden watch list

Legendary Indianan John Wooden, for whom the award is named.A panel of voters will weigh-in weekly on who they think will win the Wooden Award, given each year to the top college basketball player.

Here’s the press release.


NEW YORK (November 29, 2007) – Tyler Hansbrough, a junior forward for North Carolina, the nation’s No. 1-ranked team, tops CSTV’s inaugural 2008 Wooden Watch. Hansbrough leads all players with five first place votes, followed by Kansas State freshman forward Michael Beasley. Memphis’s Chris Douglas-Roberts ranks No. 3, followed by UCLA’s Kevin Love and Indiana’s Eric Gordon.

This season is the first year CSTV.com will feature the Wooden Watch, a weekly prediction of who will win college basketball’s most prestigious individual honor, voted on by CSTV and CSTV.com basketball experts and national and regional college basketball reporters.

The Wooden Watch panel includes CSTV college basketball talent Steve Lappas, Pete Gillen and Sean Farnham; CSTV.com basketball columnists Jerry Palm, David Scott, Eric Sorenson, Phil Kasiecki and Josh Herwitt; and CBS Sports.com columnists Gary Parrish and Gregg Doyel.

For more information on the nation’s top college basketball players, and to view the entire Wooden Watch list, visit: http://www.cstv.com/sports/m-baskbl/woodenwatch/

The complete Wooden Watch list is as follows:

1. Tyler Hansbrough, F, Jr., North Carolina
2. Michael Beasley, F, Fr., Kansas State
3. Chris Douglas-Roberts, G, Jr., Memphis
4. Kevin Love, F, Fr., UCLA
5. Eric Gordon, G, Fr., Indiana
6. D.J. Augustin, G, So., Texas
7. Stephen Curry, G, So., Davidson
8t. Roy Hibbert, C, Sr., Georgetown
8t. Drew Neitzel, G, Sr., Michigan State
10t. Darrell Arthur, F, So., Kansas
10t. Jon Brockman, F, Jr., Washington
10t. Sean Singletary, G, Sr., Virginia
13. Chris Lofton, G, Sr., Tennessee