Bolser named to Mackey Watch List

From IU Sports Info:


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana redshirt freshman tight end Ted Bolser has been named to the John Mackey Award midseason watch list, the Nassau County Sports Commission announced. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2010 John Mackey winner will be announced on Dec. 9, 2010. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2010 Mackey semifinalists on Nov. 15, 2010, and the announcement of the 2010 Mackey finalists on Nov. 22, 2010.

Bolser, the lone freshman on the 22-player watch list, has 12 catches for 194 yards to go along with four touchdowns (tied for team lead) and 16.2 yards per catch (leads team) in 2010. His four scores match the school record for a Hoosier tight end, set by Bob Stephenson in 1979. Bolser’s receptions and yards are the most in a season since Aaron Halterman recorded 23 catches for 230 yards in 2003.

The Cincinnati native has scored on all four balls thrown his way in the red zone. Bolser has been targeted 14 times overall, and he has made the most of his opportunities with his 12 catches, 10 for first downs, and his four touchdowns.

Bolser became the first freshman since James Hardy (2005) to score a touchdown in each of his first three games. In his first game, he finished the season-opening win over Towson with four catches for 68 yards and a 12-yard touchdown on his first career touch. His opening game yardage total was the best for a Hoosier tight end since Halterman had 71 against Kentucky on Sept. 20, 2003.

The John Mackey Award midseason watch list is an update from the preseason watch list. This list is meant to draw attention to tight ends in contention for the annual award based on their performance in the first half of the active season. All future announcements can be found at

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists nine NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark (’01) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (’02) of the Denver Broncos, Kellen Winslow II (’03) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (’04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (’05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Matt Spaeth (’06) of the of the 2008 Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (’07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman (’08) of the Cincinnati Bengals and the 2009 John Mackey Award recipient Aaron Hernandez of the New England Patriots.