Dickerson named to Golden Spikes Award List

Indiana’s Alex Dickerson was selected to be one of 50 players on the USA Baseball preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List. From Indiana Sports Info:

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – On the eve of opening day, Indiana junior outfield Alex Dickerson was selected as one of 50 players nation-wide to be placed on the USA Baseball preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List. The award, sponsored by Major League Baseball, is given to the top amateur baseball player in the country annually.

Add this watch list recognition to Dickerson’s ever-increasing list of preseason accolades, having been named to nearly every single publication’s preseason All-America list.

The Poway, Calif., native wrapped up his second season in an IU uniform with a .419 average, 99 hits (tied for third all-time), 24 home runs (second), 75 RBI (fifth), 19 doubles (seventh) and an .805 slugging percentage (third). He finished seventh nationally in home runs and total bases, and eighth in slugging percentage. He enters his junior season with 38 longballs, just nine home runs shy of the school record. He also carries a 17-game hitting streak into the 2011 season.

The watch list features 50 of the nation’s top amateur players, and it will be a “rolling” list to ensure that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the Golden Spikes Award, to be presented live on Monday, July 11, at the 2011 Major League Baseball All-Star FanFest in Phoenix, Ariz.

“It is our pleasure to announce the 50 members of the preseason watch list for the 2011 Golden Spikes Award,” said Paul Seiler, Executive Director/CEO of USA Baseball.  “Last season provided us with an extremely deep pool of candidates from which to choose, and with one-third of the 2010 semifinalists being named to the 2011 preseason watch list, we look forward to another year of excellent performances.”

Following the release of a second, 60-player watch list to be named on Tuesday, May 3, USA Baseball officials will announce to the 30 semifinalists for the 2011 Golden Spikes Award on Tuesday, May 31.  The list of 30 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of select professional baseball personnel, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of nearly 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2011. Tuesday, May 31 marks the day when college baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite player for the Golden Spikes Award on GoldenSpikesAward.com.  As part of this selection process all voters will be asked to choose five players from the list of 30 names.  On Tuesday, June 7, USA Baseball will announce the five finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

The 2011 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award will be presented July 11 on an award show via live telecast from Phoenix, Ariz. on GoldenSpikesAward.com, USABaseball.com and MLB.com in conjunction with All-Star FanFest.

Bryce Harper of Southern Nevada was the recipient of the 2010 Golden Spikes Award.  The No. 1 overall pick of the 2010 MLB First-Year Player Draft to the Washington Nationals was the first junior college player since Alex Fernandez (Miami Dade Community College [now Miami Dade College]) in 1990 to win the award.

Other past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006), David Price (2007), Buster Posey (2008), and Stephen Strasburg (2009).

2011 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Important Dates
• Thursday, Feb. 17 – 50-man preseason watch list released, shaped by USA Baseball officials, advisors and college SIDs
• Tuesday, May 3 – 60-man midseason watch list released, shaped by USA Baseball officials, advisors and college SIDs
• Tuesday, May 31 – 30 semifinalists announced, selected by USA Baseball officials; semifinalist voting begins; voters select five
• Friday, June 3 – Deadline to vote for finalists, 5 p.m. ET
• Tuesday, June 7 – Five finalists announced; finalist voting begins; voters to select one
• Friday, June 17 – Deadline to vote for winner, 5 p.m. ET
• Monday, July 11 – Golden Spikes Award presentation at All-Star FanFest in Phoenix

The complete 2011 Preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List is as follows:

Tyler Anderson, LHP, Junior, Oregon, Pac-10
Jeremy Baltz, OF, Sophomore, St. John’s, Big East
Matt Barnes, RHP, Junior, Connecticut, Big East
Trevor Bauer, RHP, Junior, UCLA, Pac-10
Jackie Bradley, Jr., OF, Junior, South Carolina, SEC
Jed Bradley, LHP, Junior, Georgia Tech, ACC
Adam Bryant, IF, Senior, Troy, Sun Belt
Garrett Buechele, IF, Junior, Oklahoma, Big 12
Jason Coats, OF, Junior, Texas Christian, Mountain West
Gerrit Cole, RHP, Junior, UCLA, Pac-10
Zach Cone, OF, Junior, Georgia, SEC
C.J. Cron, C, Junior, Utah, Mountain West
Alex Dickerson, OF, Junior, Indiana, Big Ten
Kenny Diekroeger, IF, Sophomore, Stanford, Pac-10
Jason Esposito, IF, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Sean Gilmartin, LHP, Junior, Florida State, ACC
Sonny Gray, RHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Cole Green, RHP/OF, Senior, Texas, Big 12
Paul Hoilman, RHP/IF, Senior, East Tennessee State, Atlantic Sun
Danny Hultzen, LHP/IF, Junior, Virginia, ACC
Brian Johnson, LHP/IF, Sophomore, Florida, SEC
Taylor Jungmann, RHP, Junior, Texas, Big 12
Zack MacPhee, IF, Junior, Arizona State, Pac-10
Mikie Mahtook, OF, Junior, Louisiana State, SEC
Deven Marrero, IF, Sophomore, Arizona State, Pac-10
Harold Martinez, IF, Junior, Miami (Fla.), ACC
Nick Martini, OF, Junior, Kansas State, Big 12
Mike McGee, RHP/OF, Senior, Florida State, ACC
Anthony Meo, RHP, Junior, Coastal Carolina, Big South
Levi Michael, IF, Junior, North Carolina, ACC
Brad Miller, IF, Junior, Clemson, ACC
Peter O’Brien, C, Junior, Bethune-Cookman, MEAC
Ricky Oropesa, IF, Junior, Southern California, Pac-10
Matt Price, RHP, RS Sophomore, South Carolina, SEC
Matt Purke, LHP, Sophomore, Texas Christian, Mountain West
Nick Ramirez, IF/LHP, Junior, Cal State Fullertson, Big West
Noe Ramirez, RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullertson, Big West
Anthony Rendon, IF, Junior, Rice, C-USA
Jordan Ribera, IF, Senior, Fresno State, WAC
John Ruettiger, OF, Junior, Arizona State, Pac-10
Jeff Schaus, OF, Senior, Clemson, ACC
George Springer, OF, Junior, Connecticut, Big East
John Stilson, RHP/IF, Junior, Texas A&M, Big 12
Preston Tucker, IF, Junior, Florida, SEC
Logan Verrett, RHP, Junior, Baylor, Big 12
B.A. Vollmuth, IF, Junior, Southern Mississippi, C-USA
Aaron Westlake, IF/C, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Kolten Wong, IF, Junior, Hawaii, WAC
Ryan Wright, IF, Junior, Louisville, Big East
Tony Zych, RHP, Junior, Louisville, Big East

About the Golden Spikes Award
Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2009 Golden Spikes Award winner was Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Stephen Strasburg (’09), Buster Posey (’08), David Price (’07), Tim Lincecum (’06), Alex Gordon (’05), Jered Weaver (’04), Rickie Weeks (’03), Khalil Greene (’02), Jason Jennings (’00), Pat Burrell (`98), J.D. Drew (’97), Mark Kotsay (’95), and Jason Varitek (’94). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Robin Ventura (’88), Jim Abbott (’87), Will Clark (’85), Dave Magadan (’83), Terry Francona (’80), Tim Wallach (’79), and Bob Horner (’78).  For more information, please visit GoldenSpikesAward.com.