Drouin named Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year

Derek Drouin won his fourth Big Ten outdoor high jump championship this past weekend and was named Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year for the fifth time. The IU release follows.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana’s Derek Drouin is the Big Ten Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year. The award is the fifth Big Ten Athlete of the Year award in the senior’s career, matching Bob Kennedy for the most in IU history, though Kennedy added four in cross country as well. Drouin was the athlete of the year during the 2013 indoor season as well. He won his seventh Big Ten high jump crown this weekend, and became the first jumper to ever win four Big Ten outdoor titles in the high jump. Drouin was one of five Hoosiers to garner All-Big Ten honors, joining Andy Bayer and Emma Kimoto as first team honorees, while Zach Mayhew and Robby Nierman were named second team all-conference.

Indiana track and field director and head coach Ron Helmer said Drouin has been a great representative on the Big Ten Conference and is competing at a level on par with anyone in the world this season.

Derek is performing like one of the best in the world this year, because he is one of the best in the world,” said Helmer. “He is a great ambassador for not only Indiana University but also for the Big Ten. He matches his competitive drive and talent with a great deal of class.”

Drouin cleared 2.24m (7-4.25) to win the seventh Big Ten high jump title of his career and his fourth outdoors. Having clinched the victory in the event, Drouin called it a day. Drouin is Indiana’s 14th seven-time Big Ten Champion, and is IU’s first ever seven-time champion in a single event. His title is IU’s 31st all-time in the high jump, and the 15th outdoors. Drouin scored 10 points for the Hoosier cause. Drouin has won titles at the Penn Relays and Texas Relays this season as well, and cleared a Penn Relays and Franklin Field record of 2.33m (7-7.75), which ranks number two in the world this season.

The Big Ten also honored senior Derek Messmer and freshman Sydney Clute as Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipients.

Next up for the Hoosiers is the NCAA East Preliminary Round in Greensboro, N.C. on May 23-25. For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to IUHoosiers.com.