Cheaney just one of several former Hoosiers on IBHF Silver Anniversary Team

Indiana University all-time scoring leader Calbert Cheaney and several other members of an impressive 1989 in-state Hoosier recruiting haul, including Bloomington’s Chris Lawson, were among 18 men named Tuesday to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2014 Silver Anniversary Team.

Cheaney of Evansville Harrison, who is also the Big Ten’s career scoring leader, Bloomington South’s Lawson, Mr. Basketball Pat Graham from Floyd Central and Warren Central’s Greg Graham all matriculated at IU and are on the Silver Anniversary team alongside:

Current Purdue coach Matt Painter (Delta) and other 1989 Indiana All-Stars such as Rodney Holmes (South Bend St. Joseph’s), Jamie Matthews (New Washington), Tony McGee (Terre Haute South), Rich Mount (Lebanon), Matt Petty (Crawfordsville), Kenny Rowan (Northview), Casey Schmidt (Valparaiso) and Nate Tubbs (Fort Wayne Wayne.)

Joining the former All-Stars on the Silver Anniversary team are David Anderson (Marion), Tony Barbee (Indianapolis North Central), David Hinton (Castle), Scott Matthews (New Washington) and Mickey McPherson (Mississinewa.)

Cheaney was an assistant on IU coach Tom Crean’s staff before departing this season to join the St. Louis University staff headed by former Hoosier player and coach Jim Crews. Lawson played 54 games at IU before concluding his college career at Vanderbilt. Pat Graham and Greg Graham joined Cheaney on IU’s 1992 Final Four team and the great 1993 club that went 17-1 in the Big Ten and 31-4 overall, undone at the end largely by Alan Henderson’s knee injury.

All men’s Silver Anniversary team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s annual men’s banquet on March 26, 2014. A midday reception, free and open to the public, will be held at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle.