Latimer, Ewald named second-team All-Big Ten picks

Indiana junior wide receiver Cody Latimer was named All-Big Ten second team by the media and senior kicker Mitch Ewald was named second-team all-conference by the coaches when the selections were announced on Monday.

Latimer ranked fourth in the conference in receptions with 72 and third in receiving yards with 1,096 to go with nine touchdowns. He’s just the fifth Indiana receiver in school history to post over 1,000 yards in a season and the first since James Hardy in 2007.

Ewald finishes his career as the Hoosiers’ all-time leading kicker in every major category. He finished with 53 career field goals, 159 extra points and 320 total points, all school records for kickers. Tailback Anthony Thompson (412) is the only IU player to score more points in his career. Ewald finished the season perfect on extra points (56-for-56) and 9-for-11 on field goals.

Tailback Tevin Coleman, tight end Ted Bolser, offensive tackle Jason Spriggs and center Collin Rahrig all received honorable mention. Safety Greg Heban was Indiana’s sportsmanship award winner.

The full list of All-Big Ten players is here.