Latimer named Indiana Team MVP at banquet

Junior wide receiver Cody Latimer was named Indiana’s Team MVP at its banquet on Saturday evening. The release from IU follows.


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Junior wide receiver Cody Latimer was named the Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player at the Indiana football banquet on Saturday evening. Head coach Kevin Wilson also honored the team’s seniors and recognized several additional team awards.

Latimer became the fifth Hoosier to surpass 1,000 yards in a season and his total of 1,096 ranks third all-time at IU. His 72 receptions are fourth and his nine scores are ninth.

On the Hoosiers career lists, Latimer’s 135 catches and 2,152 yards are seventh, and his 17 touchdowns are tied for fifth. The Dayton, Ohio, native recorded five 100-yard games in 2013, which is tied for third in a single season, and owns seven in his career, which is tied for fourth.

Latimer finished third in the Big Ten in yards (25th nationally), fourth in receptions (T-32nd) and tied for fourth in TDs (T-28th).


Below is a list of the Hoosiers 2013 award winners:


Hoosier Iron Award (Outstanding Weight Room Performance): Greg Heban

Ted Whereatt “Senior Academic Excellence” Award: Bill Ivan

Ted Verlihay “Mental Attitude” Award: Ralston Evans

Corby Davis Memorial Award (Outstanding Back): Tevin Coleman

Howard Brown “Dedication to IU Football” Award: Stephen Houston

Chris Dal Sasso Award: Ted Bolser

Harold Mauro “Loyalty to IU Football” Award: Duwyce Wilson

Terry P. Cole Award (Old Oaken Bucket Game MVP): Tre Roberson

Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year: Chase Alexander, Nate Boudreau & Andrew Wilson

Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year: Nate Hoff, Justin Nowak & Ben Polk

Outstanding Walk-On Player of the Year: Jake Zupancic

Special Teams Player of the Year: Mitch Ewald

Defensive Teammate of the Year: Tim Bennett
Offensive Teammate of the Year: Shane Wynn

Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player: Cody Latimer

Team Captains: Ted Bolser, Greg Heban & Kofi Hughes