Ferrell named Bob Cousy Award finalist

Indiana sophomore point guard Yogi Ferrell was named one of the 23 finalist for the Bob Cousy Award for the nation’s top point guard. The release from IU follows.

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today (Feb. 17) the 23 watch list finalists for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. Indiana’s Kevin Yogi Ferrell was among the finalists announced.


2014 Cousy AwardGet Acrobat Reader

Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, the annual honor recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. The original watch list of 80 candidates was narrowed down to a list of 23 by a nationally based committee (see PDF linked above for complete list).

“The 23 athletes on this list represent the most committed, determined and skillful point guards in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.

“We are honored to be recognizing their strengths and are excited to move forward in the selection process.”

“The men on this list all have the athletic qualities of an exceptional true point guard in the game of college basketball, the same qualities that made Mr. Cousy an iconic player,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “All of these young men are on this list because they deserve to be competing for this well-respected award.”

Beginning Tuesday February 18th through Monday March 10th, fans from around the country will have the chance to vote for the top point guard in college basketball – fan voting begins on www.cousyaward.com at 10:00AM EST. The current listing of 23 finalists for the 2014 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Hall of Famers and Sports Information Directors.

The winner of the 2014 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in North Texas as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Raymond Felton (North Carolina),Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina) and last year’s recipient Trey Burke (Michigan). For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy Award, log onto www.CousyAward.com.


  1. Remy and Maurice are badly missed, this would be an entirely different team if they were on it. Selfless, mature, focused… all the attributes that make a difference in providing the one attribute you can’t fake on a team, leadership. It really shows when we hit the ‘wall’ and Hoosiers look at each other with confused and lost looks.

    The impact of their loss does not only show on this group (without blaming the players who trusted the ‘brand’, you can’t call this collection a ‘team’. It will show going forward for the young ‘talents’ denied their example, character and experience. Very bad mistake. As Hoosiers we’ll recover, learn the lessons left behind and once again become Indiana; but we’ll always remember and regret the kids now here, denied the experience of ‘Hoosiers’. basketball.

Comments are closed.