Halstead on Stopper of the Year watch list

Indiana closer Ryan Halstead, the program’s all-time leader in saves, was named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writer’s Association Stopper of the Year watch list for the country’s top relief pitcher. The release from IU follows.

Halstead Placed on Stopper of the Year Watch List

Feb. 11, 2014

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Ryan Halstead is one of 50 pitchers nationally to be placed on the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s Stopper of the Year Preseason Watch List. The award is given annually to the country’s best relief pitcher.

Halstead is Indiana University’s all-time leader in season saves (11; 2013) and career saves (22). The senior from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., was drafted by the Minnesota Twins in last June’s MLB Draft but declined to sign with the club and returned to Bloomington for his senior campaign.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 21, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 4, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA’s All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year’s recipient to be announced during the 2014 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia’s Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State’s Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas’ Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana’s Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. Berg of UCLA was crowned the winner in 2013.