Minnesota at Indiana, Game 3

Top 9th: Jake Kelzer gave up a walk and a single to start the ninth, but then got Bobby Juan to fly out to center, Matt Fiedler to nearly ground into a double play and Mark Tatera to strike out on a slider to end it. Indiana wins 8-0 and finishes the regular season 37-13 with a 21-3 Big Ten record.


Bottom 8th: Indiana put the game out of reach in the eighth. After a leadoff walk to Kyle Schwarber, Sam Travis doubled to center field. Scott Donley then lined a single to right field to score Schwarber. Dustin DeMuth hit a grounder to the pitcher and won a foot race to the bag, sliding head first to reach while Travis scored from third. Brad Hartong hit what could’ve been a three-run home run but was robbed at the fence by Jordan Smith. However, later in the inning. IU center fielder Tim O’Conner singled to right to bring in two runs to make it 8-0 IU heading into the ninth.


Top 8th: Minnesota center fielder Dan Motl reached on an error and stole second base, but Scott Effross recorded two outs and Jake Kelzer stepped in to get the final one in the eighth. IU leads 4-0 and needs three outs to take the series.


Bottom 7th: Will Nolden led off the seventh with a single and eventually made it to third but was stranded there. IU still leads 4-0.


Top 7th: Scott Effross gave up a pair of singles, but also got three flyouts to end the inning. IU still leads 4-0.


Bottom 6th: Indiana broke the game open in the sixth with three straight doubles to start it and then another hit. Second baseman Casey Rodrigue led off with a double into the right center field gap. Kyle Schwarber followed him with a double down the right field line to bring Rodrigue home. Sam Travis then hit the right field wall with another double to score Schwarber. Travis moved to third on a groundout by Scott Donley, then scored when Dustin DeMuth flared a single to center field. That was the end of the day for Minnesota’s Neal Kunik, who came out for Toby Anderson. IU leads 4-0.


Top 6th: Scott Effross took the mound in the sixth and gave up a single to Minnesota’s Dan Motl to start it, but then got a ground ball to third for a force play. Connor Schaefbauer was then caught stealing second and Effross got Michael Handel to ground back to the box. IU still leads 1-0.


Bottom 5th: Brad Hartong led off the fifth with a double down the third base, then moved to third on a groundout but was stranded when Nick Ramos struck out and Craig Dedelow grounded out to first. IU still leads 1-0.


Top 5th: Brian Korte gave up a one-out single, but otherwise cruised through the fifth. He’s thrown 64 pitches through five shutout innings. IU leads 1-0.


Bottom 4th: Neal Kunik retired the IU side in order in the fourth. Game still 1-0.


Top 4th: Brian Korte gave up a lead-off single by Connor Schaefbauer and allowed him to go to second base on a balk, but he retired the next three hitters. Craig Dedelow, playing in place of every-day center fielder Tim O’Conner, made a diving play in center field to end the inning. IU leads 1-0.


Bottom 3rd: Nick Ramos opened the third with a single, but he was thrown out stealing. Craig Dedelow drew a walk and stole second, but Casey Rodrigue struck out and Kyle Schwarber flied to center. IU still leads 1-0.


Top 3rd: Matt Fiedler and Mark Tatera singled to start the third, but Brian Korte struck out Chris Schaaf, who was trying to bunt, then got Dan Motl to ground into a 5-4-3 double play to end the inning. IU still leads 1-0.


Bottom 2nd: Scott Donley led off the second with a double into the right center field gap, moved to third on a groundout by Dustin DeMuth, then scored on a sacrifice fly to right field by left fielder Brad Hartong. IU takes a 1-0 lead.


Top 2nd: Korte retired the Minnesota side in order again. Still scoreless.


Bottom 1st: Minnesota’s Neal Kunik retired the Indiana side in order. Scoreless after one.


Top 1st: Brian Korte retired the Minnesota side in order on 13 pitches to start the game. Scoreless after a half.


Regular season finale starts at 3 p.m. Lineups follow.

Minnesota (27-21, 13-10)

1. Dan Motl cf (.298, 14 runs, 8 RBI)

2. Connor Schaefbauer ss (.293, 30 runs, 19 RBI)

3. Michael Handel, dh (.270, 3 HR, 20 RBI)

4. Dan Olinger 1b (.253, 21 RBI)

5. Troy Traxler lf (.346, 6 RBI)

6. Bobby Juan, rf (.222, 4 HR, 19 RBI)

7. Matt Fiedler 3b (.262, 2 RBI)

8. Mark Tatera c (.250, 2 HR, 25 RBI)

9. Chris Schaaf, 2b (.120, 2 RBI)

P-Neal Kunik, rhp (2-1, 2.31 ERA, 20 K’s in 39 IP)

Indiana (37-13, 20-3)

1. Casey Rodrigue, 2b (.275, 40 runs, 17 RBI)

2. Kyle Schwarber, c (.340, 54 runs, 10 HR, 35 RBI)

3. Sam Travis 1b (.354, 47 runs, 10 HR, 52 RBI)

4. Scott Donley dh (.310, 5 HR, 41 RBI)

5. Dustin DeMuth 3b (.383, 5 HR, 32 RBI)

6. Brad Hartong, lf (.336, 3 HR, 33 RBI)

7. Will Nolden rf (.312, 27 runs, 19 RBI)

8. Nick Ramos, ss (.237, 2 HR, 19 RBI)

9. Craig Dedelow, cf (.217, 7 RBI)

P-Brian Korte, lhp (2-0, 2.43 ERA, 25 K’s in 33 1/3 IP)