Schwarber one of 15 semifinalists for Johnny Bench Award

From IU Sports Info.

Schwarber Among 15 Semifinalists For Johnny Bench Award

WICHITA, Kansas – The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced today the fifteen semifinalists for the 2014 Johnny Bench Award presented by Indiana’s Kyle Schwarber was among those named as a semifinalist after being named to the preseason watch list for the award.

The Johnny Bench Award is given annually to honor the most deserving DI catcher that was nominated by their school in a given season. Catcher’s nominated should be the starting catcher in 70% of their team’s games. It is not a measure of future MLB success.

Schwarber is hitting .347 with 10 home runs and 34 RBI while committing just three errors defensively for a field percentage of .990. He has also thrown out 12 out of 35 base runners attempting to steal a base.

The Johnny Bench Award semifinalists are (in alphabetical order):
• Will Allen, University of Mississippi
• Brett Austin, North Carolina State University
• Anthony Azar, Sam Houston State University
• Aramis Garcia, Florida International University
• Grayson Greiner University of South Carolina
• Taylor Gushue, University of Florida
• Sean Hagen, Eastern Kentucky University
• Mike Hollenbeck, Illinois State University
• Sean McHugh, Purdue University
• Brian O’Keefe, Saint Joesph’s University
• Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State University
• Alex Real, University of New Mexico
• Kyle Schwarber, Indiana University
• Mark Zagunis, Virginia Tech
• Shane Zeile, UCLA

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 3, 2014. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 17th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 26, 2014.