6 Hoosiers earn All-Big Ten honors

Kyle Hart earned a spot as a First Team All-Big Ten pitcher and five other Hoosiers earned all-conference honors, the league announced Tuesday.

Senior shortstop Brian Wilhite and junior outfielder Craig Dedelow were each named Third Team All-Big Ten selections, while Scotty Bradley, Ryan Fineman and Luke Miller were each named to the league’s All-Freshman team.

Junior first baseman Austin Cangelosi was named Indiana’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner.

Minnesota’s two-way standout Matt Fiedler was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, Illinois right-hander Cody Sedlock earned Pitcher of the Year honors, Nebraska reliever Chad Luensmann earned the Freshman of the Year award and Minnesota’s John Anderson was honored as the unanimous Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Hart leads the Big Ten and is tied for fourth nationally with 10 wins, while ranking sixth in the league in innings pitched (93 1/3) and eighth in strikeouts (75). He is IU’s only first team selection during the past two years and the program’s 13th since 2013.

Wilhite has started the last 49 games at shortstop after beginning the year at third base. He enters the postseason tied for sixth in the Big Ten with eight home runs. Three of those have been grand slams, while another came as an inside-the-park home run against Northwestern. Dedelow leads IU with a .315 batting average and 16 doubles, and has driven in at least one run in six of his last 13 games.

Fineman is fourth on the team with a .274 average, starting each of IU’s last 28 games at catcher. The California native is a member of the Johnny Bench Award Watch List. Miller is batting .333 in Big Ten games this year, while Bradley is hitting .276 with six doubles and 18 RBIs as IU’s part-time designated hitter.