IU’s Thompson MAC Hermann semifinalist

Indiana University senior midfielder Tanner Thompson was one of 15 players named as a semifinalist for the men’s MAC Hermann Trophy on Tuesday.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. Three men’s finalists will be named on Dec. 14 at the conclusion of voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches.

“Tanner has had a wonderful career at IU,” Indiana coach Todd Yeagley said. “His ability to create off the dribble and pass make him a special player. He also works hard defensively and is tough mentally and physically. He has become an elite college player and is very deserving to be one of the semifinalists for the prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy award.”

Thompson, who was also a semifinalist for the award in 2014, was named first team All-Big Ten for the third straight season and earned Big Ten Midfielder of the Year for the second straight year in 2016.

The Loomis, Calif. native started all 21 matches for the Hoosiers, leading the team with 19 points on eight goals and three assists. The senior also netted four game-winning scores this season for Indiana (12-2-7), which lost to Virginia Tech in the third round of the NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

Six IU players have previously won the Hermann Trophy, including current assistant coach Brian Maisonneuve in 1994, which is also the same year Yeagley won the MAC Player of the Year. The two awards merged in 2002, and Danny O’Rourke was the last Hoosier winner in 2004.