Buss receives honorable mention as WBCA All-American

Indiana junior Tyra Buss was given honorable mention to the WBCA’s All-American team, according to a press release released Sunday.

Buss, a 5-foot-8 point guard, is one of seven Big Ten players to receive honorable mention recognition. Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell was the conference’s only first-team All-American.

For the year, Buss averaged 18.4 points, 4.7 assists and 2.4 steals per game. She is the first player in program history to score 600 or more points in back-to-back seasons. She is also the fastest player in school history to 1,000 points.

The Mount Carmel, Ill., native is the fifth IU women’s basketball player to receive some kind of All-America recognition, following Debbie Oing (1975), Denise Jackson (1983-84), Karna Abram (’85-86) and Cindy Bumgarner (’85-86).

The complete list of WBCA All-Americans:

Name Institution Year Position  
Kalani Brown Baylor Sophomore Center  
Napheesa Collier Connecticut Sophomore Forward  
Kelsey Mitchell Ohio State Junior Guard  
Chantel Osahor Washington Senior Forward  
Alexis Peterson Syracuse Senior Guard  
Kelsey Plum Washington Senior Guard  
Katie Lou Samuelson Connecticut Sophomore Guard  
Brianna Turner Notre Dame Junior Forward  
Gabby Williams Connecticut Junior Forward  
A’ja Wilson South Carolina Junior Forward

Honorable mention

Name Institution Year Position  
Evelyn Akhator Kentucky Senior Forward  
Lindsay Allen Notre Dame Senior Guard  
Kristine Anigwe California Sophomore Forward, Center  
Ariel Atkins Texas Junior Guard  
Monique Billings UCLA Junior Forward  
Allazia Blockton Marquette Sophomore Guard  
Lexie Brown Duke Junior Guard  
Sophie Brunner Arizona State Senior Forward  
Tyra Buss Indiana Junior Guard  
Jordin Canada UCLA Junior Guard  
Alaina Coates South Carolina Senior Center  
Nia Coffey Northwestern Senior Forward  
Sophie Cunningham Missouri Sophomore Guard  
Nina Davis Baylor Senior Forward  
Diamond DeShields Tennessee Senior Guard  
Asia Durr Louisville Sophomore Guard  
Makayla Epps Kentucky Senior Guard  
Feyonda Fitzgerald Temple Senior Guard  
Katelynn Flaherty Michigan Junior Guard  
Rebecca Greenwell Duke Junior Guard  
Myisha Hines-Allen Louisville Junior Forward  
Tori Jankoska Michigan State Senior Guard  
Jessica January DePaul Senior Guard  
Brionna Jones Maryland Grad Student Center  
Kitija Laksa South Florida Sophomore Forward  
Breanna Lewis Kansas State Senior Center  
Tynice Martin West Virginia Sophomore Guard  
Erica McCall Stanford Senior Forward  
Brooke McCarty Texas Junior Guard  
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame Sophomore Guard  
Teniya Page Penn State Sophomore Guard  
Leticia Romero Florida State Senior Guard  
Mercedes Russell Tennessee Senior Center  
Karlie Samuelson Stanford Senior Guard  
Brooke Schulte DePaul Senior Guard  
Brittney Sykes Syracuse Grad Student Guard  
Shakayla Thomas Florida State Junior Forward  
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State Junior Guard  
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough Maryland Senior Guard  
Lizzy Wendell Drake Senior Forward  
Sydney Wiese Oregon State Senior Guard  
Ronni Williams Florida Senior Forward  


  1. A very deserving honor for IU and Tyra. As this program continues to improve, hopefully these types of honors will be more frequent in the future. Go Hoosiers!

  2. Although it’s great that T. Buss was nationally recognized and deservedly so, I might add. She truthfully should’ve been given a much higher ranking than just being placed on the honourable mention list because she’s actually a much better basketball player than she’s shown herself to be thus far in her career and I’ve got this gut feeling that she’s going to break out of the “great mode” level of a player and shift into the “superstar mode” level of a player that she truly is. And as far as the Hoosiers team goes as a whole well anything less than second place in the big ten conference standings would be shocking in my opinion….cause they’re able, capable, and talented enough of a team to mount a serious run at winning the conference titles outright. Bet?

Comments are closed.