Seven Hoosiers honored with All-Big Ten awards

Indiana received the most All-Big Ten selections of the Chris Lemonis era when the league’s annual postseason accolades were announced Tuesday.

Seven Hoosiers received league honors, led by second-team selections by outfielder Logan Sowers and utility man Matt Lloyd. Outfielder Craig Dedelow and starter Pauly Milto received third-team designations, while first baseman Matt Gorski, shortstop Jeremy Houston and starter Cal Krueger were selected to the league’s all-freshman team. Second baseman Tony Butler was also named Indiana’s Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Voting is done by the league’s head coaches.

Iowa’s Jake Adams, who leads the Big Ten with 24 home runs, is the conference player of the year. Maryland Brian Shaffer, who leads the league with a 1.67 ERA and ranks second with 98 strikeouts, earned pitcher of the year honors.

Maryland pitcher Tyler Blohm, who is tied for first in the league with eight wins, was named freshman of the year. Darin Erstad, manager of regular-season champion Nebraska, is the Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Lloyd, a junior college transfer, is fourth in the conference in slugging percentage (.578), tied for sixth in home runs (10) and is 15th in RBIs (40).

He’s also been effective on the mound, sliding into the closer’s role during the second half of the season. Lloyd’s nine saves are tied for fourth in the league.

Sowers leads the Big Ten in doubles (17), is tied for eighth in total bases (104) and tied for ninth in homers (nine). Sowers has multi-hit performances in nine of his last 12 games entering Wednesday’s Big Ten Tournament at Bart Kaufman Field.

Dedelow is enjoying a powerful senior season at the plate, entering the postseason tied for second in the Big Ten with 15 home runs. Dedelow is seventh in RBIs (45) and eighth in slugging percentage (.528).

His eight home runs in conference play ties him for seventh in IU single-season history with Vasili Spanos in 2003 and Doug DeVore in 1999.

Milto has given Indiana’s weekend rotation a reliable Saturday/Sunday starter since his move from the bullpen midway through the year. Milto has a 5-1 record and a 3.66 ERA since joining the rotation.

For the second consecutive season, IU’s three all-freshman selections lead the conference.

Gorski, a unanimous selection, leads the Hoosiers in steals (12), he’s third in average (.291) and fifth in on-base percentage (.354), while serving as IU’s primary first baseman.

Houston is already developing a reputation as one of the top defensive middle infielders in the conference. The shortstop has eight errors on the year, with two coming in the first two games and two more coming on a double error. Across his past 39 games, Houston has merely six errors in 163 chances.

Across the last month, Krueger has helped shore up Indiana’s weekend rotation as the Sunday starter. He’s 2-0 in three starts, posting a 1.62 ERA. For the season, he’s fifth in the Big Ten in ERA (2.48) and 12th in opposing batting average (.244).

The full list of honorees can be found below:

Player of the Year

Pitcher of the Year
Brian Shaffer, Maryland

Freshman of the Year
Tyler Blohm, Maryland

Coach of the Year
Darin Erstad, Nebraska

All-Big Ten First Team
C – Cole McDevitt, Minnesota
2B – Ako Thomas, Michigan
SS – Michael Brdar, Michigan
3B – Drew Lugbauer, Michigan
OF – Jack Yalowitz, Illinois
OF – Marty Costes, Maryland
OF – Joe Hoscheit, Northwestern
DH – Scott Schreiber, Nebraska
UTIL – Jake Meyers, Nebraska
SP – Brian Shaffer, Maryland
SP – Oliver Jaskie, Michigan
SP – Lucas Gilbreath, Minnesota
RP – Jackson Lamb, Michigan

All-Big Ten Second Team
C – Tyler Cropley, Iowa
1B – Pat McInerney, Illinois
2B – Dan Durkin, Michigan State
SS – Mason McCoy, Iowa
3B – Micah Coffey, Minnesota
OF – Logan Sowers, Indiana
OF – Robert Neustrom, Iowa
OF – Brandon Hughes, Michigan State
DH – Chad Roskelly, Michigan State
UTIL – Matt Lloyd, Indiana
SP – Nick Gallagher, Iowa
SP – Alex Troop, Michigan State
SP – Sal Biasi, Penn State
RP – Brian Glowicki, Minnesota

All-Big Ten Third Team
C – Nick Matera, Rutgers
1B – Toby Hanson, Minnesota
2B – Michael Massey, Illinois
SS – Angelo Altavilla, Nebraska
3B – AJ Lee, Maryland
OF – Craig Dedelow, Indiana
OF – Johnny Slater, Michigan
OF – Dominic Canzone, Ohio State
DH – Chris Folinusz, Rutgers
UTIL – Mike Carter, Rutgers
SP – Pauly Milto, Indiana
SP – Jake Hohensee, Nebraska
SP – Gareth Stroh, Purdue
RP – Mac Lozer, Michigan

All-Big Ten Freshman Team
C – Bryce Bonner, Purdue
1B – MATT GORSKI, Indiana
2B – Michael Massey, Illinois
SS – Jeremy Houston, Indiana
3B – LUKE ROSKAM, Nebraska
OF – Bryce Kelley, Michigan State
OF – Skyler Hunter, Purdue
DH – Casey Dodge, Illinois
UTIL – Jordan Kozicky, Minnesota
SP – TYLER BLOHM, Maryland
SP – Hank Christie, Northwestern
SP – Cal Krueger, Indiana
RP – Tommy Henry, Michigan

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Anthony Drago, Illinois
Tony Butler, Indiana
Corbin Woods, Iowa
Zach Jancarski, Maryland
Michael Brdar, Michigan
Dan Durkin, Michigan State
Matt Stemper, Minnesota
Ben Miller, Nebraska
Cooper Wetherbee, Northwestern
Jalen Washington, Ohio State
Alex Malinsky, Penn State
Hayden Grant, Purdue
Max Herrmann, Rutgers

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS