Lillard MAC Hermann Trophy finalist #iums

Indiana University senior captain Grant Lillard was named one of three finalists for the 2017 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy on Friday, United Soccer Coaches announced.

The three finalists were determined by voting from NCAA Division I soccer coaches.

Lillard, along with Wake Forest’s Jon Bakero and Stanford’s Tomas Hilliard-Arce, are the finalists for the prestigious award, given annually to the top college soccer player in the nation.

This year’s winner will be announced on Jan. 5, 2018, in conjunction with the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Lillard, who was named a first team All-American Thursday, has started all 23 matches this season at center back entering tonight’s College Cup semifinal against North Carolina.

An Indiana player has not won the award since Danny O’Rourke in 2004, and the last Hoosier to be a finalist was Will Bruin in 2010.

Current IU coach Todd Yeagley won the MAC Player of the Year in 1994 while teammate and current associate head coach Brian Maisonneuve took the Hermann Trophy that same year. The two honors were combined in 2002. Other Hoosiers to take home either trophy are Angelo DiBernardo (1978), Armando Betancourt (1981) and Ken Snow (1988, ’90). Dema Kovalenko also won the NSCAA National Player of the Year in 1998.