Morgan named to Karl Malone Award watch list

Indiana’s Juwan Morgan has been named to the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award watch list, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Morgan is one of 20 preseason candidates for the award, which is in its fifth year of circulation.

The IU senior is also a preseason All-Big Ten selection after averaging 16.5 points and 7.4 rebounds last season. Morgan needs 170 points to become the 52nd player in IU history to reach the 1,000-point mark in their career.

Previous winners, in order, include Arizona’s Deandre Ayton, Baylor’s Johnathan Motley, Iowa State’s Georges Niang and Louisville’s Montrezl Harrell.

Here’s the full list of watch list candidates:
Yoeli Childs, BYU
Zion Williamson, Duke
Juwan Morgan, Indiana
Dedric Lawson, Kansas
Dean Wade, Kansas St
Reid Travis, Kentucky
P.J. Washington, Kentucky
Jordan Murphy, Minnesota
Jordan Brown, Nevada
Luke Maye, North Carolina
Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Chris Silva, South Carolina
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Grant Williams, Tennessee
Devontae Cacok, UNCW
Bennie Boatwright, USC
Simisola Shittu, Vanderbilt
Eric Paschall, Villanova
Noah Dickerson, Washington
Sagaba Konate, West Virginia


  1. Small conference champions and “at large” bids to keep it politically correct… in the NCAA tournament.

    Nice to see some from smaller programs get some recognition.

Comments are closed.