IU soccer dominates All-Big Ten awards

Big Ten regular-season champion Indiana dominated the yearly conference awards announced on Friday.

The second-ranked Hoosiers had 10 players honored along with Big Ten Coach of the Year Todd Yeagley.

“Any time you have the talent and the year we’ve had, those accolades are a reflection on it,” Yeagley said. “I told the guys, ‘We had a lot today honored, and we have to take a moment and step back and look at all the guys not playing on the weekend and do all the work that allows you guys to shine, that push you every day.’ That was the key to this whole process.”

It is the second Big Ten Coach of the Year honor for Yeagley, who also received the award in 2010, the last time Indiana won the regular-season title.

“It usually goes to the team who wins it,” he said. “Some years you feel like you did a lot and aren’t necessarily rewarded with anything. That’s why I don’t put a lot of thought into it. If the team does well, that’s the reward and what’s most important.”

Other IU honors included Defensive Player of the Year Andrew Gutman, Goalkeeper of the Year Trey Muse and Freshman of the Year Jack Maher.

Joining Gutman and Muse on the All-Big Ten first team were Griffin Dorsey and Frankie Moore. Second team honors went to Justin Rennicks, Trevor Swartz, Rece Buckmaster and Timmy Mehl. Jeremiah Gutjahr was named Indiana’s Sportsmanship Award winner.

Gutman was honored after not only helping the Hoosiers post a Big Ten-best 11 shutouts and the fewest goals of any team in the conference (9), but he finished second in the conference with nine goals and third in the conference with seven assists. Gutman also has six game-winning goals, second in the nation, making him a candidate also for Offensive Player of the Year, which went to Michigan’s Jack Hallahan (seven goals, seven assists).

In goal, Muse was a unanimous choice as a first-teamer and Goalkeeper of the Year. He is the first Hoosier to win the award with eight solo shutouts and a 0.54 goals against average. Five of those shutouts came in Big Ten play with only three goals allowed.

Maher, who was also named to the All-Freshman Team, has started all 17 matches at center back this season and becomes the 15th Hoosier to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Indiana begins postseason play on Sunday when it hosts the Northwestern-Ohio State winner in the Big Ten Tournament quarterfinals in a 4 p.m. match at Armstrong Stadium.

One comment

  1. Keep up the focus and aggressive energy. Win the B1G Tourney and then get to the NCAA Championship game and win it all! What a team! What a year!

Comments are closed.