Randle El receives Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award

Antwaan Randle El continues to bring in Big Ten honors.

The conference announced Wednesday that Randle El is this year’s recipient of the Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award, which recognizes a former Big Ten football player who has achieved success in the area of leadership following his career at a conference school.

Randle El is the first Hoosier to receive the Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award. The late IU legend George Taliaferro won the inaugural Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award in 2011.

In 2010, Randle El and his brother Curtis Randle El established The EL Foundation, which strives to provide life-changing opportunities for underserved children and their families across the country. The EL Foundation consistently provides and implements enrichment and recreational programs, camps and opportunities to support, encourage, develop and empower exceptional and successful young men and women.

Randle El also co-founded the Virginia Academy in 2013, where he serves as Athletic Director and Basketball Coach.

Randle El, a 2012 IU Athletics Hall of Famer, is on the 2019 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. The 2001 first team All-American and Big Ten Most Valuable Player finished sixth in Heisman Trophy balloting after he placed 13th in 2000