Crawford named 2018 MVP at IU’s awards banquet

Indiana recognized former safety Jonathan Crawford with the Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player award at the football program’s annual banquet on Tuesday night.

Crawford led IU with 66 total tackles and 47 solo stops as a senior in 2018, and shared the team lead with two fumble recoveries. His four takeaways tied for second on Indiana’s team, and he also recorded an interception and three pass breakups.

The three-time honorable mention All-Big Ten selection started every game after arriving at IU in 2015. He and long snapper Dan Godsil also became the first Hoosiers and the 12th and 13th Big Ten players to start 50 games.

Crawford, offensive lineman Wes Martin, defensive lineman Jacob Robinson and receiver Luke Timian were each named team captains. For Martin, it was the second time he received such an honor.

Running back Stevie Scott was named IU’s Offensive Newcomer of the Year after setting IU true freshman records with 1,137 rushing yards, 228 attempts, 10 touchdowns and six 100-yard games.

Defensive back Cam Jones was named IU’s Defensive Newcomer of the Year after playing in 11 games at the hybrid safety position and sharing the team lead with two forced fumbles.

A full list of IU’s 2018 program award winners can be found below:

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Stevie Scott
Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Cam Jones
Ted Whereatt “Senior Academic Excellence” Award: Wes Martin
Ted Verlihay “Mental Attitude” Award: Delroy Baker, Nick Linder
Corby Davis Memorial Award (Outstanding Back): Bryant Fitzgerald
Howard Brown “Dedication to IU Football” Award: Jacob Robinson
Chris Dal Sasso Award (Outstanding Lineman): Jerome Johnson, Brandon Knight
Harold Mauro “Loyalty to IU Football” Award: Luke Timian, Ryan Watercutter
Terry P. Cole Award (Old Oaken Bucket Game MVP): Jerome Johnson
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Connor Thomas
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Samuel Slusher
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Aaron Casey
Outstanding Walk-On Player of the Year: Chris Gajcak
Special Teams Player of the Year: J-Shun Harris II
Most Outstanding Specialists of the Year: Dan Gosdil, Logan Justus
Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player: Jonathan Crawford
Team Captains: Jonathan Crawford, Wes Martin, Jacob Robinson, Luke Timian
Love Each Other Award: Ricky Brookins