IU soccer dominates All-Big Ten awards

For the second straight year, the Indiana men’s soccer team hauled in the postseason awards from the Big Ten.

On Friday, the Hoosiers led the conference with 12 overall honors, matching last year’s team. That included two first-team selections, five overall selections and a trio of specialty award winners.

The All-Big Ten first team included sophomore defender Jack Maher and freshman midfielder Aidan Morris. Those two also took individual honors, as Maher was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Sportsmanship Award honoree, while Morris was Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Maher has anchored an IU defense that has allowed just 15 goals in 17 games with six shutouts, while the team captain has also contributed three goals and two assists, including a pair of game-winners. He is the third straight Hoosier to win the defensive award, following Grant Lillard and Andrew Gutman.

Morris has two goals and six assists on the season, all coming in conference matches. He was twice named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week. He is also the third straight Hoosier to win the freshman honor, following Mason Toye and Maher.

Freshman midfielder Josh Penn, senior defender Simon Waever and redshirt junior defender Spencer Glass were named to the All-Big Ten second team.

Freshman forward Herbert Endeley joined Morris and Penn on the All-Big Ten Freshman Team, tying the program record for newcomers honored.

In addition to the player’s honors, Indiana coach Todd Yeagley was named Coach of the Year for the third time and the second consecutive season. He also won the award in 2010. Yeagley replaced 10 starters off of last year’s undefeated Big Ten champs and still kept IU atop the league standings.

The Hoosiers (12-2-3, 7-1 Big Ten) open play in the 2019 Big Ten Tournament as the No. 1 seed on Sunday at 1 p.m. when they host the winner between No. 8 Ohio State and No. 9 Rutgers.