Allen a finalist for FWAA national coach of the year award

Indiana coach Tom Allen continues to be recognized for the Hoosiers’ historic season, becoming a finalist for the Football Writers Association of America’s national coach of the year award.

Allen was one of nine announced Monday as in the running for the 2020 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. The list also includes San Jose State’s Brent Brennan, Iowa State’s Matt Campbell, Coastal Carolina’s Jamey Chadwell, Colorado’s Karl Dorrell, Cincinnati’s Luke Fickell, Alabama’s Nick Saban, BYU’s Kalani Sitake, and Clemson’s Dabo Swinney.

Allen has already been named as the Big Ten’s coach of the year, selected by both the media and coaches. He has also been named to watch lists for the Paul “Bear” Bryant and Bobby Dodd national coach of the year awards.

This is IU’s first finalist for the Robinson Award since John Pont in 1967. Pont won the award that year.

No. 7 IU (6-1) has worked itself into the top 10 in the polls for the first time since 1969. The Hoosiers are one of three programs nationally with three top-25 wins, beating Penn State, Michigan, and Wisconsin in the same season for the first time in program history.

IU’s six conference wins tie the program’s single-season record.

One comment

  1. Nick Saban and Dabo Swinney! Really? Give me a break.

    If the award has anything to do with doing more with less, or getting the most out of your players, TA wins it hands down. Good gracious, half the coaches in college FB could duplicate the results that Alabama and Clemson achieved this year given the resources those two have at their disposal. How many coaches, analysts and errand boys does Alabama employ? Not saying they’re not great coaches or that they don’t deserve credit for building juggernaut FB programs, but I doubt either could have done what TA has done at IU this season.

    And if Matt Cambell wins it, well……………..

Comments are closed.